"Wolf Warrior 2" is ASEAN-China Film Festival's Best Film

Writer: Florey DM

"Wolf Warrior 2" star Wu Jing accepting the award for Best Feature Film at the inaugural ASEAN-China Film Festival.

6 Dec – The first ever ASEAN-China Film Festival (ACFF) ended on a high note with its star-studded closing ceremony yesterday at Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), Malaysia.

Taking home the honour of Best Feature Film was China's very own "Wolf Warrior 2", starring one of the country's top martial arts stars, Wu Jing.

"I'm very delighted and honoured to be awarded by the 2017 ASEAN-China Film Festival, this is a very high prize for my movie," said the actor who was present at the ceremony to accept the award.

Adding that movies are a good way to showcase to the world of one's country's cultures, the actor said that he is "looking forward to working with the elites from ASEAN countries in the film industry".

The action blockbuster is proving to be a success for Wu Jing as not only is it grossing a remarkable amount worldwide, it has also been picked as China's submission for the Best Foreign Language Film category at next year's Academy Awards.

"King Selfie" represented Cambodia at ACFF 2017.

Meanwhile, Cambodia's "King Selfie" was the recipient of the Special Jury Prize. The cast accepted the awards and expressed their gratefulness for it.

The movie, which tells of a good-looking man who is a huge selfie addict, is one of the Cambodian titles that were selected for the film festival. The other Cambodian entry is "Prize of Love", also directed by Matthew Robinson.

Other movies that received the 2017 ASEAN-China Film Festival Special Jury Prize were "Rina 2" (Brunei), "#66" (Indonesia), "Swan Lifts Turtles" (Laos), "By Coincidence" (Myanmar), "Wandering" (Thailand) and "Saigon, I Love You" (Vietnam).

"Shuttle Life" star Jack Tan kept his acceptance speech short as he did not expect to win.

Malaysia's Jack Tan once again did the country proud when he was awarded Best Actor for his performance in "Shuttle Life".

This marks the third Best Actor win for Tan, who previously won the same accolade at the Asian New Talent competition of the 20th Shanghai International Film Festival and at the 12th Chinese Young Generation Film Forum Awards.

"Long Long Time Ago 2" cast accepting the Best Director award on behalf of Jack Neo.

The Best Director award went to Singapore's Jack Neo, whose "Long Long Time Ago 2" cast accepted the award on his behalf as the busy director is currently filming yet another movie in his home country.

Best Actress winner Laila Ulao, who starred in the Philippines' "Women of the Weeping River", was also unable to attend the ceremony and director Sheron Dayoc accepted the award on her behalf.

The 2017 ASEAN-China Film Festival is held in conjunction with the 50th anniversary of ASEAN.

The second ASEAN-China Film Festival will be held next year in Xiamen, China.

Cinema Online, 06 December 2017

Related Movies:
Wolf Warrior 2 (English / Mandarin) (05 Oct 2017)
Price Of Love (Khmer) (18 Jan 2018)

Related Links: